Catching you up to speed: Denver (And then…Brooklyn.)

6 Oct

As Nora mentioned in her post, we’ve had crazy years (the lamest excuse) and have both confronted the idea that we need to play with the format of this four year old (!) blog. We’re going to be doing baking challenges less frequently (target is once a month) and more frequent baking/cooking roundup posts. In the meantime, here are a very select few things I baked (or cooked) since we fell off the wagon:

This winter was nuts for me, as I studied for and took the MCAT in January. In February, I made one of my favorite recipes in the world, Martha Stewart’s Chocolate-Espresso Tart. This is out of my Martha Stewart’s New Pies and Tarts book, which is (a) probably my most-used cookbook and (b) was a gift from Nora back in the day. Actually, Nora and I first used this recipe together when she visited my first Denver apartment in 2012! (we drank champagne and wore The Cat Hat and I had a broken arm.)

02 feb tart

Spring rolled around and I did a lot of great baking, and also made these beautiful panna cottas from a great Kitchn recipe to serve my mom for Mother’s Day. Nora visited, and we spent several hours being rained out at a Rockies game.

05 mother's day panna

2015-05-04 18.23.43

I spent my free time in the summer relaxing, camping, hiking, and enjoying the company of my friends! My friend made these amazing eggs shakshuka while camping in August, and they are too pretty not to share.

08 aug camp eggs

Then, in late August, I moved to…New York City! I effectively doubled the distance between the Cats and Commas duo (oops).

2015-08-22 11.09.12

I live in Park Slope, which is the best. My kitchen is…small. Since arriving, I have gotten super into making jams and preserves (not new to me) and have branched out into pickles (definitely new to me!). Here’s some of the plum preserves I made with beautiful Upstate Elephant Heart plums, as well as dilled pickled beans and cardamom-pickled carrots.

2015-09-23 17.22.59

Bonus: here’s what cooking in my Denver house looked like all year:

Leave a Reply

