The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014: Portland

15 Dec

DSC_0287 Happy holidays, one and all! Since the first year of the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap, I’ve looked forward to this time of year. Putting together packages and sending them off, then sharing the cookies I get in the mail, what a great tradition!

Per normal, I picked up some baking books from the library to get some inspiration. This year, I grabbed Cooking Light’s How to Bake and the Grand Central Baking Book, from a popular Portland shop famous for its cinnamon rolls. My recipe ultimately came from the latter.

Cranberry-pistachio shortbread seemed sufficiently festive and would likely ship well. I also tried another recipe of the same format: ginger-oat shortbread, which I sent to a cousin. Here’s how my cranberry-pistachio cookies came together:

DSC_0258 DSC_0260DSC_0275 These kind of cookies, i.e., when you roll up the dough and cut them into disks, are a bit difficult to cut evenly, so I almost ended up running out of dough (I always make 4 dozen, three for the swap itself, and one for my co-blogger). I had to do a bit of reshaping, but I ended up having exactly enough. Downside was I didn’t get to sample the finished cookie. But the oat-ginger variety tasted great, so I assume these turned out well too. And honestly, with as much butter as goes into a shortbread, it would be hard to be bad (I hope).DSC_0310 The three packages I received were lovely! Panini Happy dressed up chocolate chip cookies with writing on top, wishing fellow bloggers joy, hope and love for the holiday season. (The cookies surrounding them are chocolate surprise that Blaine and I made. They’re wonderful, with brownie-like texture on the inside.)DSC_0321 A blogger with The Big Fat Jewish Wedding and The Big Fat Indian Wedding sent a two-fer: a tin full of colorful sugar cookies and chocolate biscuits. DSC_0326 Mommy Powers offered oatmeal raisin walnut cookies, shaped perfectly and snug in a sleeve. And of course I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention Hannah’s wonderful biscotti, but of course she’ll be blogging about that herself. Loved the presentation on all these packages (something I’m still working on myself). Thanks to all for sharing these treats!

Finally, many thanks to Julie of The Little Kitchen and Lindsay of Love and Olive Oil for all their work organizing the swap and working to help Cookies for Kids’ Cancer with Oxo as a sponsor to make it all happen! Until next year, cookie swap.

2 Responses to “The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014: Portland”

  1. cookcanread December 15, 2014 at 5:17 pm #

    Good morning, Nora! I’m so glad I was one of your matches– I loved my shortbread. Thank you, happy holidays and happy baking!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s that time of year: Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2015 | catsandcommas - October 8, 2015

    […] Nora: Cranberry-Pistachio Shortbread […]

Leave a Reply

