Solo Project: Two Cakes

28 Sep

Both of my parents’ birthdays are in September. I never do full-sized cakes, because they often turn out sub-par. I’m much better with cupcakes! However, I made two cakes this last month that turned out beautifully, and I want to share them! 

One was a simple white cake with American Buttercream, for my mother’s 60th birthday. My mom is one hell of an awesome lady, and I wanted to do something really pretty for her! Following this as a model, I made her this cake: 

Image

My dad’s birthday was this last Monday, and he’s a chocolate fiend. Chocolate is better than pure gold, in his eyes. So, naturally, I made a chocolate cake (Martha Stewart’s recipe, of course), with a chocolate ganache as “frosting”. Man, was this thing rich. I swirled the frosting into rosettes, which is something I’d seen on pinterest. I didn’t follow a tutorial or anything – I just kinda went for it. I was really happy with how it turned out.

Image

 

Happy birthday, Mom and Dad. I love you!

Image

3 Responses to “Solo Project: Two Cakes”

  1. Wishful Whisking September 28, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    Wow good job! The rainbow one must have taken so much time, looks lovely!

  2. Evelyn September 28, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    Very pretty colours with the rainbow one! Looks great 🙂

  3. Nicole Redding October 15, 2013 at 3:32 am #

    Daaaaaaaaamn gurrrrl I love it!

Leave a Reply

