Pumpkin Whoopie Pies: Denver

6 Nov

Well, I ought to start this post with a note: my camera broke. I am pretty upset about this, even though it was just a dinky Cannon point-and-shoot, because I can’t afford a new one, and I have had notoriously poor luck with cameras in the past. Sigh.  So, the photos here are of mediocre quality, having been taken on my MacBook Pro’s “Photo Booth” application (and then, after watching me struggle to use it, my boyfriend let me use his iPhone to take photos).

THESE. ARE. DELICIOUS. sosososo good. I wish there weren’t like 400 calories in one, because I honestly could have sat down and eaten the entire batch.  On a side note, these are exactly what I imagine Pumpkin Pasties taste like. They are that delicious.

I actually combined two of Nora’s possible four source recipes to make my pies.  The cakes themselves were made from the Brown-Eyed Baker recipe. It was easy to follow (dry ingredients, wet ingredients, mix etc), and the cakes are delicious. Instead of using a tablespoon to mold my cakes, I put them in a big ziplock bag, cut the corner off, and “piped” them.  They looked really, really disgusting (photo below).  Boris walked by and said, “I think your poop cakes look delicious.”  Enough said.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I baked them up, which brings me to the only comment I have about this recipe – they took AGES to bake. I baked them for 15 minutes (the recipe specifies 10-12) and once they’d cooled, they were still liquid in the center. I know my pies were bigger than the source recipe, but geez. I put them back in the oven for another 15 minutes (!) and then they were done perfectly.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

They still looked like poop cakes, though. Just saying.

The filling was from the Bon Appetit site.  I love marshmallow cream (LOVE, in an unhealthy way), so when I saw this, I knew there was no way I could pass this chance up. The filling is basically marshmallow cream, butter, powdered sugar, and maple extract mushed together. It is heaven. I strongly recommend it.  The texture was marvelous and it was so maple-y.

Once the cakes were cooled, I assembled them, and they looked less like poop cakes, which is good.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Have I mentioned that these things are delicious?

I had originally planned to pack these up and ship them to a friend who is in her freshman year of college (who doesn’t like care packages, especially when you live in a dorm room?), but they’re WAY too soft and delicate to ship, even if it’s only one state over.  I will have to come up with something more sturdy to send her, so look for that in the next challenge.

Leave a Reply

