Pumpkin Gingerbread Cookies: Denver

25 Oct

Whelp, I made these cookies like a week ago and am just now getting around to posting the blog. Is this because I’m busy? Sure isn’t. I don’t have a job. It is just because I am lazy.  These cookies were BUHLICIOUS, though, and I wish they weren’t all eaten.  I would have doubled the pumpkin if I could make them again (and, oh, I will be making them again).

Mix dry, mix wet, combine; pretty simple. I substituted baking soda for baking powder – I never understand why recipes use baking SODA with no base to cause the reaction to make it rise….sure, the soda will decay a little in heat but I prefer the leavening power of baking POWDER.

I made a double batch of dough, because I plan to mail some of the cookies to my friend Drew for his birthday, and want to keep some for myself! I baked a few batches, then put the rest of the dough back in the fridge overnight.  The next morning, I got up and finished baking the rest of the cookies.  I didn’t have any halloween-type cookie cutters, and I am unemployed (read: broke), so I had to make do with what shapes I had. I made some circles, with plans to decorate them like Jack-O-Lanterns, and then I made some SWEET SCIENCE SHAPES.  As a housewarming gift, my friend Chris got me a set of cookie cutter that comprised an erlenmeyer flask, a test tube, a Rutherford model of the atom, and a normal graduated flask. I am stoked about these science cookie cutters and am thrilled to use them for the first time.  Here they are!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This dough turned out beautifully, with a silky texture and an awesome color:

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

So, I rolled it out, cut out my shapes, and popped them in the oven. Wait time!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Finally, left ’em to cool overnight.

The next morning, I got up, STOKED to decorate. Seriously. I usually hate decorating cookies but I was so excited. I made a double-batch of royal icing, got out my decorator (I use a squeeze-bottle, like one you’d put mustard in), and got to it. I wanted to flood most of my cookies with icing, so I started by outlining all of them with plain white icing. All of them. Like three dozen. About halfway through this process (read: an hour in), I remembered why I hate decorating cookies.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

BUT, once I started doing real decorating, I remembered that decorating cookies is also fun sometimes. I wanted my potions and whatnot to be green, and I thought it would be fun to do purple.  The cookies I sent to Drew were shaped like pumpkins, so I had some orange guys in there, too.

I am so proud of how these turned out! They looked better than my usual homemade, home-decorated cookie (not saying much; they usually look like I got drunk and then tried to decorate them with a fork).  They were also delicious.  Look at how cute they were. Pumpkin cookies! SCIENCE COOKIES! DNA COOKIES! TEST TUBE COOKIES!

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

This one had a virus on it.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The atoms were, however, by far my favorite.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I also really liked that one with the poison symbol on it. And that test tube that just had “DNA” written on it…like real DNA. They call it that because it forms macromolecules that look like the letters “DNA”. Duh.

Leave a Reply

